The Sound of Music

Music In The Heart
The Sound of Music to the Heart

Every place you turn on social media there are quotes that some would deem profound. Phrases considered as little nuggets of wisdom to live by. I myself find help, encouragement, and inspiration reading these quotes from time to time. I am just young (old) enough to remember a time before social media was so prominent. I lived in an era where the sound of music and song lyrics were words to live by.

Music still is a very vital and important part of our culture and my own day to day life. Today is the anniversary of things less than desirable and life altering in the worst way. But I have managed to ride atop the waves of the tsunami of pain that threatens to swallow me whole by listening to music. One of my best friends offered me her support and aid so many times this week. Her most heartfelt and kind offering was to come over and watch The Sound of Music starring Julie Andrews. This kind love filled gesture surpassed every part of my aching being and touched me right to the center of my heart. The sound of music (literally not the movie) is a healer. I am a writer a lover of words and sound combinations that move me. Although I am not willing to share the source of my pain with you today I am indeed going to share. I would like to share a playlist of songs that make me feel something. Some of the songs you may recognize others may be from indie pop artists you have never heard of. But all of them if you take the time to listen to the sound of the music have the potential to make you feel.

music mixtape

  1. Rehab- Rihanna
  2. Hurt- Christina Aguilera
  3. Tsunami- Res
  4. Dirty Laundry- Kelly Rowland
  5. Waves- Mr. Probz ft Chris Brown, T.I.
  6. Autumn Leaves- Chris Brown
  7. Suitcase- Emeli Sande
  8. Disappear- Beyonce
  9. This Time- John Legend
  10. Where I stood- Missy Higgins
  11. You lost me- Christina Aguilera
  12. Clown- Emeli Sande
  13. I never told you- Colbie Caillat
  14. Take Care- Drake (Full Album)
  15. Flaws and All- Beyonce

heart-ipod-love-music-pink-Favim.com-117746_large

Hurt by Christina Aguilera

Seems like it was yesterday when I saw your face
You told me how proud you were, but I walked away
If only I knew what I know today
Ohhh ohhh

I would hold you in my arms
I would take the pain away
Thank you for all you’ve done
Forgive all your mistakes
There’s nothing I wouldn’t do
To hear your voice again
Sometimes I want to call you, but I know you won’t be there

I’m sorry for blaming you for everything I just couldn’t do
And I’ve hurt myself by hurting you
Some days I feel broke inside, but I won’t admit
Sometimes I just want to hide ’cause it’s you I miss
You know it’s so hard to say goodbye when it comes to this

Would you tell me I was wrong?
Would you help me understand?
Are you looking down upon me?
Are you proud of who I am?
There’s nothing I wouldn’t do
To have just one more chance
To look into your eyes and see you looking back

I’m sorry for blaming you for everything I just couldn’t do
And I’ve hurt myself

If I had just one more day, I would tell you how much that
I’ve missed you since you’ve been away

Oh, it’s dangerous
It’s so out of line to try to turn back time

I’m sorry for blaming you for everything I just couldn’t do
And I’ve hurt myself

By hurting you

Leave a Reply

